MoFo Post #28: Zebra Cake

Right now I’m baking my birthday cake in advance. I’m going to be very busy throughout the week, so I’m freezing the cake and thawing and decorating it the evening before the party. It’s a zebra cake, which means that the inside will have (wonky) brown and white horizontal stripes. (BTW, I didn’t invent this technique. It’s from a recipe a friend passed on to me years and years ago.) Today I’m going to show you how to get that effect.

The protagonists: 1 1/2 batches of chocolate & vanilla marble cupcake batter (I used coconut milk again!), and a greased (read “margarined”) baking pan.

Now drop a generous spoonful of batter right in the middle of the pan (I started with vanilla, since there’s always slightly more of that). – Yeah, I know, it doesn’t really matter whether it’s the exact center.

Now drop a spoonful of the chocolate batter right on top of that.

Repeat until all the batter is used up. Don’t worry about sloppiness. You’re allowed to make a mess. Just try to get most of the batter where you want it. (Scroll down and watch the zebra cake grow.)





Pre-baking (about 40 minutes at 350°F / 180°C):

Baked:

If you want to see pictures of the decorated cake (and an inside shot, showing off the stripes), you’ll have to come back next weekend. ;)
[Edit: Now you can time-travel there. Use this link.]

2 thoughts on “MoFo Post #28: Zebra Cake

Leave a Reply

