MoFo Post #18: granola bars #2

This is my first attempt at homemade granola bars. Inspired by a MoFo post I can’t find any more (dear fellow MoFoer: if you’re reading this, please give me a shout so I can give you credit!), I mixed up some crushed cereal, quick-cooking oats, raisins, mixed nuts, chopped up dried apples, ground flax seed, shredded coconut etc. in a big bowl, added some agave syrup – and when that wasn’t enough to hold everything together, some maple syrup as well – and spread the whole sticky mess on a baking sheet and stuck it in the freezer. When it was holding together (or so I thought) but still pliable, I cut it into bars… or tried to. And this is where everything stopped going according to plan, and fell to pieces instead. Incredibly sticky pieces. Nevertheless, I didn’t want to give up. So I shaped as many “bars” as I could fit into a plastic container with a lid, wrapped in foil, then slammed the lid on them and stuck them back in the freezer. I declared the sad leftovers a kitchen fail and ate them mixed with whole wheat flakes over the next couple of days. More out of curiosity than anything else, I checked on those frozen bars today, and they seem to hold together! I’m still not convinced, so I’m reluctant to post anything close to an actual “recipe” here, but after a few more tries I might actually be getting somewhere.

3 thoughts on “MoFo Post #18: granola bars #2

  1. I am impressed! You have sticktoitiveness.

    And you are so right about Kelly’s book. It is totally lickworthy. I am not even a dessert person and I totally want to keep this one. It’s adorable from the font to the cover to the format to the descriptions to the photos to the recipes to every little thing.

  2. Yum, granola bars!

    You may want to try putting the granola mix on a baking sheet, pressing it down very firmly (easy to do if you cover it with kitchen parchment and use a rolling pin or similar) until you have one big granola “slab”, then bake that in the oven at a medium temperature for up to half an hour. It’ll turn more solid (and less sticky) once it’s cooled down and won’t crumble too much when you cut it then.

Leave a Reply

