MoFo post #10: Un-boring Brussels!

Since I recently talked about this with a friend, here’s my favourite (and, to me, possibly the only) way to eat brussels sprouts, probably initially inspired by Vegan with a Vengeance. I just toss them with some olive oil, salt, freshly ground pepper and garlic (I’m usually lazy and just use granulated garlic, which smells less but also tastes nothing like fresh garlic), then roast them in the oven at 390°F (200°C) for about 20 Minutes, and this is essential: without stirring them. I usually check on them once in the last couple of minutes to make sure they don’t get burned. They should end up a bit browned on the underside and even stuck slightly to the pan. To serve, I sprinkle them with soy sauce and a very generous amount of nooch.

5 thoughts on “MoFo post #10: Un-boring Brussels!

  1. That’s my way favourite way to eat them too except I pan fry them based on 101cookbooks recipe.

    I hated them growing up though and would almost vomit when my mother made me eat them plain and boiled but now as an adult I love them. I think it makes a big difference how they are cooked.

  2. It definitely does. I actually liked them as a kid, because they look like tiny cabbages, but then I disliked them for a much longer time, thinking they tasted boring. Well, as it turned out, I was doing something wrong. ;)

  3. Aww yeah! I love that nooch action! My dad put me off brussel sprouts when he boiled and covered them in cheese sauce. Blech. Roasted is the only way for me!

  4. i think they just don’t have a very kid-friendly taste; like the other things i used to hate when i was little and quite like now (olives, asparagus, coffee), they are rather bitter.
    my favourite way of having brussel sprouts now is in chicken soup (which is very close to the boring boiled variety, i guess), but then i haven’t discovered a single veggie yet that doesn’t turn out awesome when roasted like that.

Leave a Reply

