MoFo Post #6: Pumpkin loves Speculoos!

Once upon a time, Kris gave me a packet of Mori-Nu silken tofu, which I put in my kitchen cupboard. When I next looked at it, I realized that its expiry date was approaching, and still I had no idea what to make with it. But fortunately it’s MoFo, so inspired by Jenny’s Pumpkin Pie recipe, I set out on a pumpkin pie adventure of my own. What I came up with is based on Jenny’s recipe, but I made a couple of changes on the way that led to the renaming of the whole thing. It’s now…

Jack (the Pumpkin King) Pie

Before you do anything else, preheat the oven to 200°C (400°F).
Then start by making the
Speculoos cookie crumb crust (yeah, you heard right):
1 1/2 cups speculoos cookie crumbs
1/4 cup canola oil
1 T soy milk

Spread the cookie crumbs on the bottom of a (8-9”) pie dish or springform baking pan, sprinkle with the oil, mix and spread with your hands, add soy milk, mix and spread again, press firmly into dish, refrigerate.

Pie filling:
about 1 3/4 cups pureed pumpkin
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ground ginger
1/4 tsp. ground cloves
1 tsp. ground allspice
1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
3 TBS cornstarch
1 package (12 oz.) silken tofu
1/2 cup coconut milk

Blend all ingredients in a big bowl, pour onto prepared and chilled pie crust. Bake for 15 minutes, then lower the oven temperature to 180°C (360°F) and bake for another hour. Check after about 50 minutes, though, especially if you’re using a larger dish, since your pie might be quite golden brown on top by then. Refrigerate, best overnight – and enjoy!

7 thoughts on “MoFo Post #6: Pumpkin loves Speculoos!

  1. That sounds like the perfect crust! I’m sorry Ih ave to admit I don’t like pumpkin pie. But still, that crust is calling my name!

  2. Interestingly enough, the crust didn’t turn out too sweet. The taste is somewhere between gingerbread and toasted walnuts (but that might be the pumpkin spice mix). I imagine it might even go well with a chocolatey filling. Or you could just make those custard tarts. :)

  3. i know i have enough nice things here so i shouldn’t complain — but november already and not a single spekulatius or lebkuchen in sight, that is just plain wrong. (i did have pumpkin pie creme brulee yesterday though, so i am not as jealous as i could be. :))

Leave a Reply

