MoFo Post #2: Baked Seitan Sausages

I needed something I could take to work that had a lot of protein and was not something sweet (for a change), so I decided to make seitan sausages. Combining several different recipes and making some changes according to the content of my kitchen cupboards and spice rack (oh, and lack of a steamer), I came up with this:

1 generous cup vital wheat gluten
1/2 cup (or more) kidney beans from a can
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
1 cup vegetable broth
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon liquid smoke
1 tablespoon sage (note: maybe use a bit less next time)
black pepper, garlic gomasio

Preheat the oven to 350°F (180°C).
Mash the kidney beans with a fork.
In a big bowl, add the wet ingredients to the dry ones, mix with a fork, and form into sausages.
Wrap them in aluminium foil (shiny side in, dull side out) and bake them for about an hour.

These basic sausages can be enhanced with all kinds of different spices and ingredients (tomato paste, smoked paprika, chili powder, bits of jalapeños or sun-dried tomatoes – the list is endless). They’re pretty versatile too: You can eat them as they are, with some mustard and a slice of bread, you can cut them up for sandwiches, or you can add the slices to a stew or savoury pie filling. Still wrapped, they will keep in the fridge for about a week, but they’d never last that long around here.

7 thoughts on “MoFo Post #2: Baked Seitan Sausages

  1. I love baked seitan. I’ve thought about popping them in the oven alongside a water bath to make the oven like a giant steamer, but I’ve not tried it yet. Happy MoFo!

  2. Great looking sausages! The first time I tried to bake seitan like this (the Seitan O’Greatness recipe that was doing the rounds a couple of years back) it exploded in my oven!

    I steam all seitan now! :D

  3. Whoa! Mine didn’t explode, it just turned out inexplicably gummy. I’m really happy with how these sausages turned out, though, and I guess I’ll be making them again and again. besides, I can use the stovetop for other things in the meantime – or do something else without having to shoo the nosy cats away from the vicinity of the hot plates.

Leave a Reply

