MoFo Post #1: Simple Lentil and Pumpkin Soup

So here’s what I improvised a couple of days ago. The picture might not be too pretty, but this soup was just the right thing on another much-too-grey autumn day. I was using whatever I found in my kitchen cupboards, so this time it contains (besides veggie broth): A handful of yellow lentils (about 1 cup), a generous handful of soy balls (akin to soy curls; I got them from my favourite Indian supermarket) – you will need to soak both of these ingredients while you hunt around for the rest. I had some cubed pumpkin in the freezer compartment of my fridge, so I added that along with various spices. There wasn’t enough of my favourite Indian spice mix left, so I used some red curry paste, turmeric, cumin, and garlic gomasio (thanks, Gabrielle!). Then I just let everything simmer until the lentils and pumpkin had turned soft, adding some coconut milk on the way.
If you like this recipe, feel free to modify or enhance it with whatever suits you best. Add onions (grated ones will help make it thicker), potatoes, or different kinds of vegetables.


Soup Soup
Tasty Soup Soup
Spicy carrot and coriander
Chilli chowder
Crouton Crouton
Crunchy friends in a liquid broth
I am gazpacho Oh!
I am a summer soup Mmmm!
Miso Miso
Fighting in the dojo
Miso Miso
Oriental Prince in the land of soup

10 thoughts on “MoFo Post #1: Simple Lentil and Pumpkin Soup

  1. Mhhh. I think I found my lunch for tomorrow…or dinner today? I thought I was missing pumpkin, but hey, there’s one sitting on my windowsill…so…yummm, dinner it is. Thanks! :D

  2. Thank you for reading my mind and posting a recipe featuring pumpkin just at the right time!

    Went a bit over the top on one of my shopping trips last month since they had an offer for one kilo for one Euro only. So I went and bought several of them. And several big ones at that! That must have been a moment of temporary insanity, and it means I now have a Plague of Pumpkins in my kitchen and really need to do something about it.

    Over the past two weeks I’ve had pumpkin gnocchi and a very delicious pudding-like pumpkin-tofu-miso-pudding, I did all sorts of steamed, cooked and roasted pumpkin bits for lunch and dinner, … you get the idea. At any rate I’m running out of culinary inspiration while I definitely won’t be running out of pumpkin any time soon, so keep the cucurbita-related recipes coming! ^_^

  3. Oh, how nice! I do have some more pumpkin recipes – and it’s always good to know that one has an appreciative audience / readership. ;)
    Keep looking in; I hope you’ll find something you haven’t tried yet.
    ETA: Don’t forget to make some emergency pumpkin puree (just place some pumpkin pieces on a baking sheet with the cut side up and roast them until they’re soft and easy to peel, then mash and freeze)! You’ll be glad to have a couple baggies of pumpkin puree in winter.

Leave a Reply

