Today’s highlights: Crows and squid

Today on my way to work I noticed a crow that was trying to crack a walnut by repeatedly dropping it from a high branch, always swooping down in a dangerous-looking nose-dive to check on the state of the nut. Not a bad method, but maybe doing this in a different place would be more efficient: I was reminded of the time I watched some of the resident crows in Innsbruck’s Hofgarten placing some walnuts in the middle of the nearest street, then retreating to safety and waiting for passing cars to crack the nuts for them. (And I just learned that Japanese and Californian crows are doing this as well.) I guess Styrian crows could learn a lot from them.

I’m already looking forward to tonight, when I’ll finally get to see the ING giant squid special. (Just look at those pictures!!) :D

2 thoughts on “Today’s highlights: Crows and squid

  1. I’ve seen the thing with the crows happen on my yes-I’m-working-walks as well – they dropped them from high on, down to a very busy street – maybe a combination scheme of the two above?

    Those squid pictures are amazing! :D

Leave a Reply

