The Tapioca Experiments! Episode 1

Ever since we started talking about things to do with tapioca, kris and I have developed some kind of tapioca mania. And I’d actually never even made my own tapioca pudding before!
The Indian grocery store more or less around the corner from where I live has small pearl tapioca as well as larger pearls that look just about perfect for expanding the experimentation to bubble tea (yay! bubble tea!) that just might still be drinkable through something like a McDonald’s straw. So I got both kinds.
Prepared as I was, I immediately initiated phase one of the experiment: Simple Tapioca Pudding.
It turned out to be easy as pie (or, actually, easy as storebought pudding mix):

For two servings, soak 1/4 cup tapioca pearls in water for about an hour, then drain them and put them in a small pot or saucepan together with 1 1/2 cups non-dairy milk (I had to use coconut! I love coconut milk!!), 1/4 cup sugar and some vanilla, and stir for twenty minutes on medium heat. It doesn’t have to boil. Just, whatever you do, never stop stirring! (Otherwise you’ll have a thick layer of jelly goo stuck to the bottom of your saucepan that will feel as if it’s been cemented there.) Once the twenty minutes are over and the pudding has started to thicken, pour into moulds, cups or little bowls and let cool. Then transfer to the fridge and chill for a couple of hours.

Result: Yesterday’s luscious breakfast – coconut milk tapioca pudding and mango slices from a tin. Yum-my!

Leave a Reply

