Baby Banana Cupcakes

I’m currently trying to use up what’s in my pantry in time for moving. So far I’ve made seitan and a loaf of rye bread, and today I was craving something sweet. My cookbooks are already packed, so I searched the ppk archive for cupcakes and came up with Becca’s recipe for Chocolate Banana Cupcakes. Since I wanted golden cupcakes, I omitted the cocoa powder, but otherwise stuck to the recipe.
Goodbye to most of my all-purpose and wholemeal flour, and hello baby cupcakes!


Unfrosted, with a box of Earl Grey for size comparison.


With Peanut Butter frosting – and sprinkled with Green & Black’s organic hot chocolate mix.

Oh, and another thing: I could have made at least 4-5 more cupcakes, but I confess I ate the remaining batter with a spoon while the second batch was in the oven. ;)

7 thoughts on “Baby Banana Cupcakes

  1. yippie, ich habe hergefunden! \o/ :D

    ich mag meine rezepte ja lieber mit gewichts- als mit volumenangaben, aber trotzdem isses hier voll toll zum schauen, und auf die life, the universe und was du sonst noch so machst-kategorie freue ich mich auch besonders.

    aber wo wir gerade bei banana muffins sind: kann ich etwas mehr info zum peanut butter frosting haben?

  2. Hurra und willkommen! :D
    Beim IKEA gibt’s z.B. passende Cups (notfalls gehen aber auch einfach Kaffeehäferl), aber ich poste sicher ab und zu was mit Gewichtsangaben, da ich mir ja vorgenommen habe, alte Lieblingsrezepte (v.a. von meiner Oma) vegan nachzukochen und -backen. Anleitung zum PB frosting gibt’s, sobald ich sie wieder ausgegraben habe – momentan ist all mein Hab und Gut in Schachteln verpackt, und exakt mein Rezept find ich auch grad im Internet nicht. Aber kein Wunder: Bin durchs Einpacken und Möbelzerlegen heute noch wahnsinniger als sonst (!).
    Aber ich hab’s auf meiner mentalen ToDo-Liste!

  3. I know, I know…
    Basically, what I did was beat soft vegan margarine (in this case probably Rama Soja or Rama Bio) and about half as much peanut butter together until creamy and fluffy. Then I added powdered sugar until I liked the taste (it shouldn’t really taste salty anymore). That’s really all there is to it. You could add a little non-dairy milk for consistency, but IMO the main factor is that you use really neutral-tasting margarine, so the PB flavour will come out nicely.

  4. Oh, and another thing: If you dislike buttercream type frostings, you could make a cooked frosting, much like pudding, with a little added coconut oil so the frosting keeps its shape. Refrigerate for a couple of hours (or best overnight) before decorating the cupcakes with it. This way you’ll get the perfect consistency. :)

Leave a Reply

